Peanut Butter Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips

This is another one where I say, oh! this is the recipe I use, only to realize I make so many changes I should write up my own version.

This is the base recipe I start with https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/17013/banana-peanut-butter-bread/?fbclid=IwAR28BOg6cDOPyegtIhA1_BWXOoomk6u9jMW8OrPWiZXQVxSxho3BE-qWP6c

This is my version:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 2-3 overripe bananas
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Lightly grease a 5×9″ loaf pan.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs. Beat in peanut butter and bananas. I use a hand mixer to make sure the bananas are really well mashed.
  3. Mix in flour and baking soda until well blended.
  4. Fold in chocolate chips.
  5. Pour into pan.
  6. Bake at 325 degrees for 70 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

This is a fairly forgiving recipe. I tend to tailor the amount I make to number of overripe mushy bananas on my counter. Also, adjust the amount of sugar to how sweet the bananas, chocolate chips and peanut butter. I tend to use Skippy’s chunky peanut butter, which already has sugar.

I have added vanilla and/or cinnamon to the batter. They are all good.

The banana flavor intensifies the next day. This also makes a good bread pudding or French toast in the following day.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.